That time I got a third boob and what I did about it.

I’m sitting here with the perkiest boobs (I hate the word tits) that I’ve ever had and with the cutest little peekaboo straps sitting above my T-shirt neckline.  I have my arms close to my body and I CAN’T FEEL MY BOOBS.  They sit close by, ensconced in lace and some magical fabric that has me not only contained, but perky, minimised but not flat, what is this black magic you ask? It’s called a well fitting bra sisterhood. My boobs are where they should be and nowhere they shouldn’t and I feel bloody amazing, just in my baggy T-shirt and PJ’s.  Perky=power. And best of all, I never left the house to get this perky. Read on to find out how.

I can only speak on behalf of those who are generously endowed in the boob department. No matter what I weigh, nor how many children have sucked the life out of them, mine remain steadfastly large.  My husband loves that, he loves them, always has, he’s a boob man, so that’s lucky. I love my boobs, I check my boobs for lumps, I get mammograms as I have a family history of breast cancer, I appreciate their form and they are part of my body – in all it’s good and bad glory. But there’s a slight downer, when they get in the way as I whack a tennis ball, or attempt a run and they may flip out without warning when frolicking in the surf, but they can also make me super happy when I fill out a dress, or  I need a defined waist area. So bras are important.  I don’t really get that meme that says something like “Hometime, bra off, trackies on, wine in glass”.  I can’t not wear a bra, because…let’s just say defined isn’t what you’d see.

So, as I was saying, bras are a thing for me, they need to fit well and that ground to a halt over recent months as I slowly accepted / discovered my third boob.  You know that sneaky little bitch, that climbs over the top of the bra cup?  The one that squidges out and can be seen from the front, the back, the side.  A little like back fat (more on that later).

But then an angel came to my rescue.  Sveltana Griffen from Intimo called me and offered to give me a personalised bra fitting and if I liked it (and only if), then would I share my story with the Sisterhood.  Hell bloody yes I would, I said, but be warned, I’m pretty honest.  She told me she liked my honesty so I said, let’s do this.  Svetlana and I had met at a networking evening back in August 2016 and she and I connected right away.  She has two boys like me and is a working mum, kicking ass and taking names.

Fast forward a few weeks to a gorgeous sunny Saturday morning, 10am.  The house is quiet and all my boys are out of the house, including the 12 year old dog.  Heaven. I’ve got Spotify playing Adele and the coffee machine just poured me the best cup of coffee I ever tasted. The mood was set, I was ready to be measured.  I realised then, that the tables had been turned and I possibly felt like my clients do when we do a wardrobe edit – they get their clothes off in front of me and I hope I put them at ease, just as I hoped Svetlana would do.  I felt so nervous but so excited to get properly fitted.  Svetlana turns up in her gracious gorgeous way, immediately putting me at ease (in my own home) and explaining the process to me.  She didn’t want to overwhelm me, so she then proceeded to bring in her giant suitcase – a Samsonite purple wonder – filled to the brim with bras and Intimo clothing.  I swooned.

We spent some time talking about Intimo and what she offers (personalised fitting appointments and group fitting appointments, plus Intimo have gorgeous Merino and outer wear that is dreamy – Svetlana was wearing an awesome dress that day, with a bralette over the top – check out my #womanofstylewednesday post I took of her). Anyhoo, I’m digressing.  Once she had introduced me to the range and what I should expect, she took my measurement.  She does this, with you current bra on, it’s very discreet and no hands involved, just a tape measure touching you, I felt super comfortable. It turns out I am lopsided, like may women and one is much larger than the other! Then, it came to fitting me in the right bra.  Now I am no stranger to bra fittings but I often find that shops don’t carry my size or understand my needs.  The beauty of Intimo and them coming to your house is that you have already told them your current size and the consultants will bring a selection of that size and others thereabouts, so that you do have a range to try on.

Suddenly I was trying on (Svetlana stood behind me for modesty as I slipped each bra on) different cups, fabrics, looks, Tshirt bras, lace bras and all that was in between.  There wasn’t a HUGE range in my size, yes girls, my cup runneth over, but I was so superbly happy with what I tried on, I realised my most important dream – to feel sexy and with only two boobs, not three.  I thought I wanted a TShirt bra the most, but when I spied the bra with the cute straps that sit above the cup, I was a goner.  I thought only skinny women, with a small cup would suit that.  Turns out, that’s not the case. Cue next swoon.

The whole time I was made to feel informed, comfortable and safe with someone helping me to try on one of the most important pieces of clothing I own – a perfectly fitted bra. I didn’t even care that I had gone up a size (Svetlana may have called my back fat, angel wings, bless – nothing that a few lateral pull ups/pull downs and some serious stopping on the drinking of the vino tinto every night won’t sort out).  We may have chatted so much about being girl bosses and mammas and how we deal with the juggle that we went well over the time she had anticipated, but I loved that we got on and could talk like friends. Thats a sure fire way to ensure I trust someone.  Svetlana – my boobs look fabulous, thanks to you :-).

Post visit, I waited a few days for my Intimo package to arrive and when I did – get this – Svetlana – who had tracked the courier – checked in on me to see if the sizing was right.  I couldn’t meet her in person for a few days so we did some exchanging of texts and messenger and we devised that one of the bras wasn’t the right size and one was absolutely bloody perfect.  So, like a true boss babe who puts her customer first, she exchanges the one that hadn’t fitted perfectly, for one that did, overnight.  BOOM.  I mean, who doesn’t love customer service that still meant – not once – did I had to leave the comfort of my own home and can do some of the negotiations and discussions, outside of normal working hours.  Now that is special to a time poor mamma.

So there you go girls, my perky boobs are sitting high and proud tonight and filling out a top so much better than the bra that aids my third boob to spring to life.  I feel slimmer (I am definately not) because I am wearing the right size for me right now and I can see a clear waist underneath me – well I can when I look in the mirror, cause I can’t see much below those puppies when I look down.  Awkward. I have a Tshirt bra that doesn’t show up under thin fabrics and a gorgeous lacy bra that holds me in, but provides a beautiful shape and a bit of sexiness.

If you’d like to know more about Intimo and how you can make magic happen with your boobs or you want to see Svetlana’s magical suitcase, then please do give her a call (details below).  Having my bras fitted personally was one of the best style decisions I’ve ever made.  Svetlana tells me that they have some bras that may be suitable for those who have had surgery for breast cancer too.  And for those of you who wear a slip or cami underneath your Tshirts to hold your boobs in – you won’t have to do that anymore.  Now how cool is that.

Lots of love EJ, the mother of the Sisterhood 😍

Contact details:  Svetlana Griffen / 021 783 845 / svetlana.griffen@intimo.com.au / Facebook.com/svetlana.griffen 

2 thoughts on “That time I got a third boob and what I did about it.

  1. Honestly this sounds amazing! Bra shopping has been the bane of my existence ever since my boobs stopped being in the first five letters of the alphabet.. as my “angel buds” as my mum calls them have grown with my back so too has my distaste for bra shopping. I haven’t tried Intimo but will check them out! Do you like Rose and Thorne too?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment